Snowflake Gelato at Selfridges, W1A

As the leaves on the trees change colour and autumn says hello, I find myself looking back on the best bits of this summer. As you know, I’m a huge fan of afternoon teas, ESPECIALLY if they come with a unique twist so of course I was absolutely ecstatic when I first heard about Snowflake’s Ice cream afternoon tea! I found myself drooling over those irresistible instagram posts and I knew I had to treat myself to a cheeky gelato (or ten!)

So when National Afternoon Tea week rolled around (yes such a thing does exist!), I thought it would be fitting to invite a few fellow foodies along to gorge on gelato with me. I arrived at the Snowflake kiosk in the Selfridges food hall and found the lovely Halal Girl About Town (@halal_girl) waiting. She was the first halal food blogger in the UK and I’ve been following her awesome food journey for years. Having never actually met face to face, she told me a hilarious story that when she arrived there were two rather rotund Muslim ladies gobbling gelato and she immediately assumed they must be us – It seems to be a common misconception that all food bloggers are enormous!Β  We took a seat and were soon joined by Halima (@halimagoga) – for those of you who follow her on instagram, you may recognise her as the Queen of Matcha!

img_6899

Halima wisely cautioned us from ordering 3 afternoon teas, she’d been previously and found that there was far too much ice cream for one person – I was dubious about the concept of ‘too much ice cream’, especially as I had skipped lunch. The afternoon teas arrived on ice cold tiered cake trays. The miniature ice-creams looked almost too pretty to eat! We had an obligatory 10 minutes of a food blogger photoshooting and then got stuck in.

img_6912

There were ice cream macaroons – the pistachio one was excellent! Ice-cream canolli which had a crisp shell and smooth and creamy gelato filling.img_6921

The cutests miniature ice cream cones.

img_6913

Kiwi sorbet lolly – a really fresh summer flavour and the sharpness was a lovely contrast to the sugar overload.

img_6920

But the highlight for me was the black forest ice cream sandwich with crunchy nuts. It was picture perfect and tasted delightful!

img_6917

Snowflake does a range of gelatos and sorbets and the extensive menu offers really yummy milkshakes, waffles, crepes and sundaes. Halima was absolutely spot on, we didn’t even manage to finish two between the three of us! At Β£15 each, the ice cream afternoon tea was great value for money and a fun novelty treatΒ  perfect for the summer. The only negative was the limited seating in the Selfridges foodhall – it was rather cramped with all of us and our shopping bags!

img_6916

For more information on Snowflake, see http://www.snowflakegelato.co.uk/

I'd love to hear your comments:

