Ting Thai Caravan, EH1

The Halal: Oh yeah baby you better believe it I found halal food in Edinburgh! Beef and Chicken are halal. It’s a hip joint and you will find alcohol on the menu… And quite a bit more pork than is often seen in Thai restaurants.

The Place: Well I’m walking through Old Town in between Fringe shows and desperately in need of a food pick-me-up. I walk past a cool place, it’s hipster with an industrial looking interior which transports me back to thatย familiar Shoreditch vibe I’ve become so accustomed to. And not unfamiliar to a Londonder, there’s a 20 minute queue outside the door. Now if I was in London I wouldn’t have batted an eyelid but queuing for a restaurant in Edinburgh is not something I’ve ever had to do! Much to my husband’s horror I get myself in line.. Of course, I want to know what all the fuss is about!

IMG_3159

The Food: The food is simple Thai cooking. There’s a rapid turnaround of tables so don’t expect fine dining or exquisite service, the poor waiters are rushing around like nobody’s business. Perhaps I’d compare it to Busaba but with the novelty of not being a chain and the whole atmosphere is much edgier.

Now the real business of food. The spicy beef salad with red onions, chillies, roasted rice, mint and parsley was wonderfully light and refreshing. The salad was served in a take-away brown box which I found very cute but my husband found a bit pointless given it was a sit-down meal.

IMG_3156

The Gai Cha Plu was served the same way. This was a grilled chicken dish which was marinated in lemongrass, ginger, cha plu leaf and coconut. Again, it was extremely light and perfectly seasoned. The chicken wasn’t overcooked at all which is always a concern when the strips are cut so thin.

IMG_3153

The star of this Edinburgh Fringe show though was the Nua Yam Talay, a grilled rump steak with king prawns seasoned with lime, chilli and palm sugar. Rump isn’t usually my preferred cut when it comes to steak but I was so impressed with this. The beef was succulent and oozing spicy Thai juices.ย We accompanied our meats with plain rice and wok fried vegetable noodles which were cooked well.

IMG_3151

Unfortunately, we had to dash off to make our next show but I could have stayed and eaten lots more. Luckily I’m often in Edinburgh visiting family so I know I’ll be back again soon.

The Price: A real steal at only a tenner a head! Ting Thai caravan was excellent value for money.

The Verdict: You don’t have to be a genius to do the math. Ting Thai Caravan has is all: picturesque Edinburgh,ย a relaxed and cool ambience, tasty authentic Thai food and it’s ridiculously well-priced. I’m so happy I stumbled across this little treasure and can’t wait to go back!

One thought on “Ting Thai Caravan, EH1

I'd love to hear your comments:

